Week 19: Trail Angel Impersonation

Total Miles: 1454.4

Miles This Week: 80.6

Location: Wildcat Shelter to Wiley Shelter

The Good: Harriman SP was beautiful and grassy. The lemon squeezer was fun. I picked blueberries for breakfast with the New York City skyline on the horizon. I have hiked over 1,400 miles! My husband flew up and spent the weekend meeting some of my friends and dishing out trail magic at RPH Shelter. We had ice cream, popsicles, sodas, lemonade, chips, and fresh fruit. Basically all the things I love. I got off the trail south of there at Bear Mountain Recreation Area so I hid a soda under one of the bunks at RPH for future me to enjoy. Luckily, it was still there three days later and it was delicious! Mike did 9+ miles his first day on the A.T. Impressive! After he left, I soaked my worries at the beach in Fahnestock SP, hugged it out with the Dover Oak, and binge ate at the meatball truck near Native Landscapes.

The Bad: My phone’s battery died one day and I missed out on lots of pictures. I also forgot to take any at our trail magic and on our hike. I was so excited he was here! It was really hard to say goodbye this time. I’m not handling it well but the only way to get back to him is to get to Maine, so that’s where I’m headed! My hiking partner, Ghost, went home with Lyme. I hope he feels better soon and gets back on the trail. I’m somehow ahead of people that I was behind for a long time. I hope they catch up. I can never seem to be at the right place at the right time lately.

– Cyndi Loppers

2 thoughts on “Week 19: Trail Angel Impersonation

Leave a comment