Happy Trailiversary To Me

Six years ago my husband took me on my first camping trip at Enchanted Rock SNA. That trip lit a spark in me that would lead to an epic six months and 17 days on the Appalachian Trail. For my one year A.T. trailiversary last weekend I watched a Texas sunset with beautiful people I met on the A.T. at the place I first fell in love with hiking. I took Blackout and Pathfinder to go exploring around Austin, TX. We picked up Giggly Goose since he was in town playing SXSW and we took a little hike around McKinney Falls SP. It was good to see him and even better to be on a trail with him. After our hike we dropped him off and went to Enchanted Rock to watch the sunset. I thought I would spend the day wishing I was on the A.T. but instead I spent the day sharing some of my favorite places with some of my favorite people. On our way home we stopped by Bastrop SP and Washington-on-the-Brazos to gawk at more wildflowers. I wasn’t home for wildflower season last year so it seemed more important than usual for me this year. The hill country did not disappoint.

McKinney Falls State Park

 

One thought on “Happy Trailiversary To Me

  1. Pingback: Enchanted Rock Sunset (Trailiversary Part 2) | cats.don't.camp

Leave a Reply

