Week 27: 100-Mile Wilderness

Total Miles: 2,053.6

Miles This Week: 104.0

Location: Speck Pond Shelter to Grafton Notch and Monson, ME to Abol Bridge

The Good: I’m back with my trail family and I couldn’t be happier. I’ve done huge portions of this trail alone and relished every minute of it but my vision of summitting Katahdin has changed somewhere along my journey. These people know to push me when I need to be pushed and to leave me be when I need a minute alone. There’s no one else I’d rather stand next to that victorious sign with. The 100-mile Wilderness was kind to us. The weather was perfect. We had several Maine sunsets to die for. We night hiked. We laughed until we cried. We howled into the wind. We stood in awe at our first views of Katahdin. We’ll be there soon and the energy and excitement is as real as it can be.

The Bad: My knee straps no longer fit with all the weight I’ve lost. I tied bandanas around my knees and hoped for the best. My phone died and I missed out on a couple days worth of pictures. We ran low on food and started getting hangry. And as we all know, hanger leads to fear, fear leads to hate, and hate leads to the dark side. Luckily, Pathfinder came to our rescue with her magical hitching skills and a bag full of chocolate. I still have to do 100 miles I skipped because of my ankle and knowing I have to do them alone is something I’m not looking forward to but I’ll worry about that later.

– Cyndi Loppers

Leave a Reply

