Week 24: The White Mountains

Total Miles: 1869.8

Miles This Week: 70

Location: Kinsman Notch to Pinkham Notch

The Good: I celebrated my birthday early before heading into the Whites. A guy at a yard sale in Lincoln gave me a copy of The Catcher in the Rye. I forgot how much I love the smell of books. This week was full of rock scrambles and the best weather imaginable. I wandered lazily through the Kinsmans. I spent my birthday on Franconia Ridge. I got a birthday cookie from Mooch. I giggled late into the night with Rainbow and Pathfinder. I picked blueberries until my hands were blue. I put on my puffy and zipped my sleeping bag all the way for the first time in a very long time. I did work for stay at Lakes of the Clouds Hut with Flame, Picasso, and Low Branch. We hiked up Mount Washington with clear blue skies all around! The Whites and my trail family have won my heart over a thousand fold.

The Bad: I fell and twisted my ankle. It’s swollen but not a hike ender. We rented a car and ended up in Old Orchard Beach in Maine for rest and relaxation. With bumming around comes deep thoughts and my emotions are running high. Being this close and this far to the end with an injury has me concerned. Also, I knew at this point I’d feel conflicted between wanting to hurry home and wanting to draw it out as long as possible. I knew this would happen but I don’t think I knew how intense it would be. I think the only solution is to get back to the mountains. I just hope my ankle gets on board with this plan.

– Cyndi Loppers

3 thoughts on “Week 24: The White Mountains

Leave a Reply

