Week 21: Canoes, Bicycles, and SOBO Love

Total Miles: 1648.3

Miles This Week: 99.8

Location: Upper Goose Pond Cabin to Spruce Peak Shelter

The Good: Upper Goose Pond was amazing. It was just what I needed. How can you be in a funk with coffee, fresh blueberry pancakes, and paddling around a pond in a canoe?! I’m really starting to dig this bubble I’m in. I have to be around a group that has a great sense of humor and these guys definitely have it. I rode a bicycle to the post office in Dalton thanks to the gracious Tom Levardi and picked up some much needed replacement gear. I’ve been looking forward to this week for quite a while. This is the first section of trail I hiked on the A.T. and the relocation that we did last year at ALDHA’s Gathering. I took pictures of the first blaze I ever saw and even one of the blazes I painted myself.

image

Left: October 2014. Right: August 2015.

The dream is becoming a reality and I’m sooo close to the finish line! I just need all my body parts to hold out just a little bit longer. Mt Greylock was gorgeous, I passed 1,600 miles, and I’m in Vermont. I met some amazing SOBOs when I zeroed in Bennington. Thanks toย Bowline and Map Quest for the company and the rides around town. The weather has been cooling off even more and it feels great. I could do with a little less mud though. Trail life is good.

The Bad: I got a few migraines this week. They are not normal migraines which I’m sure are bad enough. Mine present very similar to a stroke with impaired vision, speech, and numbness on one side. They are usually brought on by stress or poor lighting. We’ve been under some pretty heavy tree cover in dark witchy forest lately so I think it’s more that than the stress. I only get one or two a year but I’ve had four on the A.T. I don’t know what to do about it other than head them off with medicine as soon as they start. If they don’t go away, I’m going to call my neurologist for stronger meds. The good news is that naps seem to help too, so I have an excuse to take naps in the middle of the day!

– Cyndi Loppers

One thought on “Week 21: Canoes, Bicycles, and SOBO Love

Leave a Reply

