Week 11: Fish Fries and Slack Packs

Total Miles: 727.8

Miles This Week: 72.2

Location: The Captain’s to Daleville, VA

The Good: This was a phenomenal week. I took more than a couple zeros but they were all worth it. The hiking was amazing as well. I got blisters from ziplining at the Captain’s and I don’t even regret it. The fish fry was amazing and all the trout were caught by his neighbors from the creek. So awesome! There was rain almost every day and I loved it. Got to see old friends and hug Miss Janet again. My favorites this week were Kelly Knob, Dragons Tooth, McAfee Knob, passing the 700 mile mark, Keffer Oak, accidentally finding the resort where they filmed Dirty Dancing, and sleeping in the barn at Four Pines Hostel. Did my first slack pack for my biggest mile day at 25.7 miles.

The Bad: I stayed at the party too long but I didn’t feel right about leaving without saying goodbye to Brotha Ty and had to wait for Miss J’s van to get fixed. I didn’t go to Trail Days so the Captain’s Party was a mini version for me to see all my friends I haven’t seen in a while. It was a good decision but it did put me behind again.

– Cyndi Loppers

Leave a Reply

