Week 7: Cats Love Water

Total Miles: 458.9

Miles This Week: 106.1

Location: Beauty Spot to Abingdon Gap Shelter

The Good: Feeling about 90% better! Going to the doctor and getting antibiotics was a good idea. Did some hostel blazing: Greasy Creek, Mountain Harbour, and Braemar Castle. No zeros and sick but still put in over 100 miles. My legs just wanna hike. Did my new longest day at 22.7 miles. Said goodbye to North Carolina for good and passed the 400 mile mark with Rainbow. I love sharing moments like that with her. Beat the heat one day in Watauga Lake and couldn’t have been happier. I’m loving all this water everywhere. Saw a few falls too. Got to see several old friends since I’ve been doing bigger miles finally. Excited to know Axis and Mundi (the twins) are close by. And I saved the best for last… this week was full of hostel lap cats!

The Bad: Even though my legs are down to hike, my lungs are still recovering. It prevents me from killing the uphills and I can’t wait to find out what this body can do at full power. The weather has been good overall but keeps flopping between extremes. Hail, snow, rain, and a lot of sun. All in one week. My friends are sick with various things and I hope they feel better soon. Got clotheslined in the face with a thorny vine. Other than that, I really can’t complain.

– Cyndi Loppers

Leave a Reply

