Week 1: Rain and Social Cats!

Miles: 66.0 (Plus 8.8 Approach Trail!)

Location: Top of Amicalola Falls to Deep Gap Shelter

The Good: Since it was raining and I already did the falls with my guys, I had them drop me off at the top. I regret nothing. I’ve been having a blast. It’s been raining and there’s been a lot of fog, but when the weather is good, the views are fantastic. I’ve had more social interaction in the last week than I have in the last year. It’s a little strange but absolutely necessary when I’m missing my guys at home. There were even cats that live at the Mountain Crossings Hostel so I got my kitty fix! I have fallen five times and none of them while I was hiking… down the hostel steps… up the trail after getting water… apparently I don’t know how to walk without a backpack anymore. I’ve met some great people and had more than a few laughs. I seem to be somewhere in the middle of the group I started with. Some are behind and some are ahead of me, but it’s given me a chance to meet a few new faces and that’s pretty cool, too.

The Bad: So far, no blisters and my knee is holding up. BUT, yesterday, I stubbed my toe really bad. It didn’t hurt enough for me to stop so I kept walking. Then I thought, “Why is my sock wet?” I hit it so hard that the nail broke straight down the middle from the end to the cuticle. Soooo much blood! As of right now, the right and left half are still attached but we’ll see how long that lasts.

– Cyndi Loppers

Leave a Reply

