The Liebster Award

I was nominated for the Liebster Award yesterday by the very cool Katniss Neverclean. Thank you! This 2014 A.T. thru-hiker badass chose future hopefuls as her recipients. What a great boost of confidence right before some of us are going to need it the most!

Liebster AwardThat’s what I said, Tiny! It’s sort of like a chain letter for the blogosphere, but instead of just being annoying and having no real purpose, it connects little blogs like mine to other bloggers. Some of us need all the help we can get! I don’t actively promote myself or my blog so it’s very flattering. Thanks, again! The coolest part for me, though, is getting to read the other blogs that she nominated. Discovering new people who have similar goals is pretty exciting. I can’t wait to check them out.

I’ll be listing my own Liebster Award nominations in my next post, but for now here are the 11 (12!) questions I was asked to answer:

1. NOBO SOBO or other?

NOBO because it works better with my time constraints.

2. What is your start date?

March 19th.

3. What made you choose to thru hike the Appalachian Trail?

Green Tunnel from Kevin Gallagher.

4. What is your biggest fear about your hike?

Injury. There are things you can prevent and things you can control but sometimes you just don’t have a say. It takes mental and physical endurance to do this kind of thing. One without the other just isn’t enough. I guess my biggest fear is that I’ll have both, and then I’ll get into a freak accident and none of that will matter.

5. How heavy will your pack be?

I’m starting with an 18 lb base weight before food, water, and fuel. I’m comfortable with it but there’s always room for improvement.

6. Mail drops or wing it?

A handful of mail drops but mostly winging it.

7. What kind of shoes will you wear?

Mid boots to start and then switching to trail runners when the weather warms up. Go ahead and add snow onto the fears list. This Houstonian has never hiked or camped in it. I’ve decided to stick to my boots until I get a handle on these magical sorcery flakes.

8. What food will you crave the most out on the trail?

I was just thinking about this on Friday! I was eating sushi and savoring every bite because I didn’t know when I would have it again. I cried wasabi tears.

9. What is your favorite thing about backpacking?

That feeling when you’ve started to daydream and then all of a sudden you realize you’re someplace new, like an overlook or a quiet meadow, and you snap out of it. When the scenery changes. It’s beautiful and there’s something wonderfully satisfying knowing that you earned it with your muscles and sweat and, if you’re clumsy like me, maybe a little blood. Also, s’mores.

10. Tent or hammock?

Tent. I tried a hammock once. I’m not against them. It wasn’t the devil. Just meh. My overactive imagination prefers the false sense of security that a tent wall provides. I can’t get over the idea of having animals underneath me in a hammock. Then, there was this post on the Appalachian Trail: Women’s Group on Facebook a while ago:

… I want to start hammock camping BUT my irrational fear is that someone walking by while I am in it can tell where I am actually laying and I could easily be stabbed unlike tent camping where they would have to get in the tent, then stab you …

I’d rather make my ax-murderers work for it. Just kidding … mostly.

11. If you could ask a previous thru hiker any question, what would it be?

I did ask! One of the workshops at the 2014 ALDHA Gathering was “Ask the A.T. Class of 2014”. I’ve been prepping for this hike for two years. You can’t tell me what shoes to wear or what tent to take or what water treatment method to use. Soooo much boils down to personal preference. Instead, I asked something along the lines of, “Now that you’re finished, is there anything you wish somebody had told you about before you started?” I thought it was a great question. Haha! They weren’t nearly as impressed with my question as I was. I think only one of them answered and I don’t even remember what they said. Looking back, I think I just threw them off guard because it wasn’t about gear or food.

12. What luxury item will you be bringing?

Tiny paper journal and a camera. Writing and photography are so much a part of who I am. For me, they are worth the weight. But, I secretly wish I was bringing a cat!

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I love the Green Tunnel video! And holy crap that comic…at least you’re not hiking in Brooklyn, right? I’m not a hammock sleeper either. I’d be worried about a bear on a dare walking up to touch the butt…which would then turn into mauling the butt and eating the butt :) I’m keeping my booty safe in a tent, thanks very much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award Nominations | cats.don't.camp

Leave a Reply

