Verizon Schmerizon

The countdown continues! Four months left. Wow. I remember when it was two years left. Now that I think of it, the ellipsis in my subtitle is pretty unnecessary now.

Thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail … in 2015

2015 used to be so far away! Changing the graphic will have to go on my list of things to do. Every time the list gets shorter, it gets longer.

I went to Verizon last week to try to get some answers about switching but walked away with even more questions. The guy I talked to was really nice and sounded like he knew what he was talking about. Then I got home and found several contradicting bits of info on the Verizon website. For instance, he said they don’t use roaming when I asked if they charged for it, but there’s a price for roaming on the website. I think he meant that they don’t do roaming because they rarely need to because they have such great coverage. When other providers roam it’s off of Verizon’s towers (his words) but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. He suggested I get a prepaid plan since I’m only switching myself to start off with and not all three lines at the same time. The total cost is cheaper that way than having two separate contract plans but the downside is getting a less than awesome phone. The last thing that bugs me is that Verizon has unlimited talk and text but limited data. Sprint, which we have now, has unlimited data but limited talk and text. I looked up our usage for the year and my kid alone used 11G of data in just one month over the summer. That’s a lot. Is six months of better coverage on the A.T. worth having to pay close attention to avoid overage charges for several years? I know I have bigger things to worry about but I was really expecting to leave the store with a clear idea on what I was going to do but now I’m just confused. Well, my contract isn’t actually up until a couple days before we leave for Atlanta so I still have time to decide.

Leave a Reply

