Cats Aren’t Sentimental

My post yesterday was naked without a picture. So here is a random picture of my cat for no reason. This is why he can’t go hiking with me.

image

He hates being cold, despite his fur coat.

I was having a hard time coming up with something to blog about this morning. I browsed some of BlogHer’s writing prompts and, well, I won’t say they suck but they just aren’t for this blog. What is your favorite appliance? Really? So I’m on my own!

I’ve thought very little about what I’m going to do when I get back from my thru-hike, whether or not I succeed. I briefly thought about getting a job. It would help us pay off my husband’s car and some of his student debt faster. That’s really as far as I got in the post hike thinking. The statistic of only one in four hikers completing their thru is something that is thrown in potentials faces pretty regularly… especially on WhiteBlaze. Any time someone entertains the idea of the end of their hike, or anything past Harper’s Ferry really, even if it’s something pretty worrisome like how to get home, they’re met with something along the lines of, “Don’t worry. You probably won’t make it anyway.” This used to bother me but ever since the Gathering, I haven’t given it a second thought. Sure, I still have my doubts but WhiteBlaze isn’t the authority on what my brain and my body are capable of. I learned that from other ALDHA members. Every single person I met told me I could do it. Maybe it has something to do with being face to face. It’s easier to type out negativity while hiding behind a computer than it is to look someone in the eye and tell them they don’t stand a chance. Either way, their encouragement made a big impact on me.

So today I’m thinking positively. Jinxes be damned! I’m throwing caution to the wind and assuming I will make it to Maine. I’d love to do something fun afterward to remember the experience. After all of the trail journals I’ve read, I’ve come to accept the fact that I have some serious beard envy. I think the epic beard-a-day compilations are awesome but since life isn’t fair and nobody wants to see my leg or armpit hairs grow out, here are some other ideas:

1.) A collage of license plates from all 14 states. Maybe into some sort of shape?

2.) A picture in a t-shirt from every state in every state.

3.) An A.T. tattoo. Maybe tiny footprints with mountains and landmarks that reads “Mischief Managed”… I love Harry Potter. Don’t judge!

4.) Mail home a pressed leaf or flower from each state… to do I don’t know what with… but that isn’t very Leave No Trace-y.

5.) A little obvious but a picture next to every state line sign I can find.

Okay, that’s all I got. Any other ideas?

One thought on “Cats Aren’t Sentimental

Leave a Reply

