Cats Don’t Organize

image

Check out this awesome personalized pouch I got in the mail from my aunt! It was a total surprise and I love it. Having my family be supportive of my A.T. thru-hike is something I have made a conscious effort not to take for granted. After all the research, books, trail journals, and forums, I know how lucky I am. Some other people aren’t so lucky. Their expression of our mutual dream is met with fear based ignorance. I am fortunate that my family has reacted with only logical questions and encouragement. So thanks guys!

I don’t know what I’m going to use the pouch for yet but I have some ideas. The zipper and canvas make it too heavy for long distances but could be nice for shorter trips or car camping. I like to use zipper pouches for electronics and less rugged items. The zipper reminds me not to just drop it on the ground like everything else. I have some cuben fiber ones from Z-packs that are awesome. I am a bit of a hoarder when it comes to gear organization. I have a stuff sack full of stuff sacks! Waterproof roll top, drawstring, zippered, mesh, compression… I like to have options. My favorites are some Granite Gear double sided stuff sacks. There’s an orange and blue one at the bottom of the picture above. I put toiletries in the blue end and first aid in the red. It’s easy to remember where things are and easy to find in the bottom of a pack… and when they’re full they look like Dr. Mario pills. :)

I still haven’t picked the ones I want to use for the A.T. but I’ve got plenty of time to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

